Posted in Programming, Uncategorized, Youth

Extension Intern

This summer, I am fortunate to have an intern through the Nebraska Extension Internship program so this week, she will be sharing some information about her background. Please give her a warm Fillmore County welcome, as you will see her smiling face at various activities this summer.

Hi! My name is Melissa Nordboe and I am the new Fillmore County Extension Intern! I am originally from Ames, NE, which is located right outside of Fremont. I grew up on acreage with my parents and one older sibling where we restore and collect antique tractors, gas engines, and old vehicles. I attended North Bend Central High School in North Bend, NE where I had the privilege of being involved heavily in the North Bend FFA Chapter. I went all the way through and received my American FFA Degree in 2012.melissa

During my time, I was also a member of Dodge County 4-H where I exhibited what seemed like hundreds of projects every year. I was heavily involved in baking, Favorite Foods Day, and woodworking just to name a few. One year, I also showed chickens. I received several awards for my projects and some went to State Fair. 4-H and FFA have always been a huge part of my life and I would not be the person I am today if I hadn’t joined them both at a young age. I also had the privilege of being selected as a Dodge County 4-H Ambassador while in high school and that is where I developed a deeper interest into Nebraska 4-H. Every experience has made an impact in my life one way or another and has made me appreciate all the opportunities I have been given.

I am currently a senior at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln majoring in Agricultural Education with a minor in Agronomy. I will be graduating this August with a Bachelor’s Degree. Agriculture has always been a major part of my life and I want to continue that in hopes of obtaining a job in Nebraska Extension after college. I am so excited to be a part of Fillmore County Extension this summer as their intern and I can’t wait to meet new people and get a glance into the “behind the scenes” of Extension.

One thought on “Extension Intern

Leave a Reply

